Skip navigation

FishingMobile

Donated rods, reels will help Scouts land fishing experience

Pete Duchrow shows Boy Scout Jason Taylor all the donated fishing reels at the Bass Pro Shops rods and reels giveaway on Thursday. (Photo: Bruce E Stidham/For the News-Leader)

Pete Duchrow shows Boy Scout Jason Taylor all the donated fishing reels at the Bass Pro Shops rods and reels giveaway on Thursday. (Photo: Bruce E Stidham/For the News-Leader)

Jackson Baskins, 11, eyed the boatload of fishing poles and reels, and his eyes lit up when he spotted what he was looking for.

Among the spinning reels, baitcasters and push-button Zebcos, he pulled out a small fly reel that clearly had been used at many fishing holes.

"I'm a beginner fly fisherman, and whatever I catch is a big deal," said the plucky youngster. "I want to catch a rainbow trout 'cause I'd like to eat it!"

Jackson, a Star and Order of the Arrow Scout with the Ozark Trails Council, will soon get a chance to try out some gently used fishing gear, thanks to the donation of 300 rods and reels to the local Boy Scout organization by Bass Pro Shops. The company is donating 32,000 rods and reels to Scouts nationwide as part of the company's effort to get kids outdoors.

Jackson and his dad, Jeff, are both novice anglers but have learned a lot through Bass Pro Shops fishing programs, like last year's Outdoors Days on Table Rock Lake, and Scouting outings.

"I think this gear donation is a terrific idea," Jeff Baskins said. "Anything to get boys outdoors to enjoy it is a positive thing. I'm a newbie fisherman. I didn't grow up with Scouting, so it's exciting for my son and I to grow together and learn how to fish. We live in a busy, loud environment, and fishing gives you an opportunity to unplug."